Kinetic Typography | Mini Project

As part of a mini brief, I was asked to design a kinetic typography piece based around an audio file of my choice. Many others chose the original file which was a scene from the film “Gravity”, but I chose a piece I thought was more intense and unique, which was the trailer for the filmed “Buried”.

“Buried” is a film based on a man who wakes up in a sealed coffin in the ground, with only a few tools to use, one of which is a mobile phone with a low battery. The film is very unique because the whole film is shot INSIDE the coffin, with no external shots. The film itself wasn’t expected to get a great review from IMDB because of its unknown and bizarre concept, but a very unexpected turn was taken when it received a 7/10 star rating.

with my project I haven’t yet began the animation and effect side of it, but I have got together the positions, sizes and I have synchronized the audio with the texts.

Image

The screenshot above, along with all the following screenshots are of my current progress.

In the future I want to be able to edit the positions of some of my text, and add in more text to the audio to make the scene longer.

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 13.08.18

I tried to play with the fact that I could play about with the size of certain letters. I used it to merge words into others, so I could group the text tighter, giving an effects of the character being trapped in the coffin in a small space.

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 13.08.22

I tried to add an exclamation mark using the “I” and the “o” in “got” to represent danger. I also used capitals and different sizes to emphasize some of the words.

Leave a Reply

